Getaways »

Dutch shipbuilding in the 17th century - The Batavia Shipyard in Lelystad

Dutch shipbuilding in the 17th century - The Batavia Yard The Batavia Wharf (The Batavia Shipyard) in Lelystad is a centre for traditional shipbuilding. From 1985 to 1995 more than 200 young people worked on an authentic reconstruction of the Dutch East India Company (VOC) merchantship Batavia from 1628. Batavia was shipwrecked on her maiden voyage, and was made famous by the subsequent mutiny and massacre that took place among the...

National Aviation Theme Park Aviodrome (Nationaal Luchtvaart-Themapark Aviodrome) at Lelystad Airport

National Aviation Theme Park and Museum Aviodrome at Lelystad Airport Take flight at the Aviodrome - A day in the clouds Experience 100 intriguing aviation years in the National Aviation Theme Park and Museum Aviodrome (Nationaal Luchtvaart-Themapark Aviodrome) at Lelystad Airport (just 45 minutes from Amsterdam) in Flevoland province on the eastern side of the Zuider Zee, about 45 minutes drive from Amsterdam. The Aviodrome, with its very large...

Training and Workshop at the Batavia Yard

Training and Workshop at the Batavia Yard For many, the shipbuilding projects at Batavia Yard are a successful first step and stepping stone to paid employment, training or self-employment. ‘Straight to work' is Batavia Yard's motto. Under the supervision of instructors, the participants gain experience and derive enjoyment from the work, recognizing new opportunities in their lives. The ships Batavia and De Zeven...

Het Twiske Recreation Area, Zaan- Region

Het Twiske Recreation Area, Zaan- Region Het Twiske Recreation area is situated north of Amsterdam, between Zaanstad and Purmerend. In the wide area Het Twiske is being mentioned on ANWB traffic signs. The area owes it’s name to a little river named the Twiske, which formed an open connection between Wormer and the IJ-river. This recreation area of 650 ha is being managed by Recreationship “het Twiske”. The vast...

The Czar Peter House in Zaandam

The Czar Peter House in Zaandam Towards the end of the 17th century Czar Peter the Great, whose great desire was the realization of his ideals to make his enormous empire great, had conceived the plan to become personally, acquainted with the civilization, commerce and industry of Western Europe. The fame of the Dutch shipbuilding, of which Zaandam was considered the most important center, had penetrated as...

Mill Het Jonge Schaap (The Young Sheep)

Mill Het Jonge Schaap (The Young Sheep) The newest asset of the Society of Zaan Mills is the brand-new saw Mill Het Jonge Schaap (The Young Sheep, situated near the Zaanse Schans. The original mill by this name was located behind the railway station of Zaandam and was demolished in 1942. This wooden saw mill is located in the Zaanse Schans, in the municipality of Zaanstad. The original mill was built in 1680 and in...

Mill 'Roosmolen De Hercules' (Rose mill The Hercules), Zaandijk

'Roosmolen De Hercules' (Rose mill The Hercules), Zaandijk 'Roosmolen De Hercules' (Rose mill The Hercules) is an unmanned steal pumping engine, which is also called the rose mill because of the shape of the wind wheel. The Hercules takes care of the water level in the Kalverpolder, situated behind the mill. The superfluous polder water is being drained into the Ringvaart. This is done by a jack, a huge kind of screw in the concrete...

The mill “Het Pink” (The Yearling)

Mill “Het Pink” (The Yearling) in Koog aan de Zaan, Zaanstad, Zaandam The mill “Het Pink” (The Yearling) was built in 1751, probably on an older foundation. It is an octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding, with a wingspread of 23 meters! For a Zaanse industrial-mill pretty huge wingspread. “Het Pink” is fit up as oil-mill. When the association “De Zaansche Molen” became owner of the mill in 1939 it was...

The mill “De Schoolmeester” (The School-teacher)

The mill “De Schoolmeester” (The School-teacher) on the Guispad at Westzaan The mill “De Schoolmeester” (The School-teacher), in former times also nicknamed as “De Gauwdief” (quick-thief), is dated from 1692. It is a hexagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding. Together with the nearby mill Het Prinsenhof (The Prince's Court) situated. De Schoolmeester is a smock mill on the Guispad at Westzaan, Noord Holland,...

Mill “De jonge Dirk” (The young Dirk)

Mill “De jonge Dirk” (The young Dirk) Mill “De jonge Dirk” (The young Dirk) is an, in 1959 rebuild, octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding. Originally this was a little mill; build in 1908 in Zaandam as spice-mill. In the current mill stele-Dutch paper can be made. The wingspread of this little mill is only 8 meters. The mill is running normally on Sunday and Monday. On...

Mill Het Prinsenhof (The Prince's Court)

Mill Het Prinsenhof (The Prince's Court) Het Prinsenhof (The Prince's Court) is fit up again in the seventies to hull barley. Het Prinsenhof (The Prince's Court) is a peeling mill on the Weelsloot in Westzaan, Zaanstad, Zaandam. Originally this octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding was also build as peeling-mill about 1722. In 1899 the mill started to be used for the...

Mill De Twiskemolen (Twiske-mill), Landsmeer

De Twiskemolen (Twiske-mill), Landsmeer “De Twiskemolen” (Twiske-mill) on the background is an octagonal binnenkruier (windmill of which the inside works is movable), build around 1578. In 1973-1974 it was put on its current place and since then it is put in operation regularly to drain the 650 hectare large Twiske-polder with its mortar, as under-draining of the polder Oostzaan. The mill stood in Barsingerhorn till...

Mill De Koker (The Chute)

Mill De Koker (The Chute) The mill De Koker (The Chute) was built in 1806 in Wormer and fit up as corn-mill. This Flour mill located at Oosteinde in Wormer. It is an octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding. It came from Graft but it was of Zaanse origin. It once stood in Zaandijk as paper-mill. It was named “De Hoop” (The Hope) then and got a “windletter”(...

Mill “De Ooievaar” (The Stork)

Mill “De Ooievaar” (The Stork) Mill “De Ooievaar” (The Stork) is an, originally in or shortly before 1622 as oil-mill build, octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding. The mill is situated right across mill “De Dood”. After 20 years of neglecting, “De Zaansche Molen” became owner of the mill in 1955. In the following year it was restored. “De Ooievaar” differentiates...

Mill De Bleeke Dood (The pale death)

Mill De Bleeke Dood (The pale death) Mill De Bleeke Dood (The pale death) is a, in 1655-1656 build, corn-mill. An octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding. The mill had been dismantled for years, but underwent – owned by “De Zaansche Molen” - a profound restoration in 1956. The mill cross with beard on which the years of its foundation in 1656 and the major restoration...
| Home | Contact Us | Submit |