The IJsselstein City Museum (Stadsmuseum IJsselstein) and Castle Tower

The IJsselstein City Museum (Stadsmuseum IJsselstein)

The IJsselstein Museum, located in the centre of the old town, focuses on the local and regional history of a territory formerly known as "Barony of IJsselstein". A lonely tower, the last remains of a huge building, reminds of the past. It was part of an impressive castle that once dominated the area. The castle and the people connected with it have their stories told in objects and images to be seen in the museum. Handicrafts, such as hoop and basket making, a variety of tools and other equipment represent the social-economic characteristics of the region. Seasonal exhibitions feature local history and modern art. Visitors, adults and youngsters alike, enjoy the place.

The historical exhibition and audiovisual presentation has as its main theme '3000 years history of IJsselstein and surroundings. Visitors walk on a farm in the Iron Age, through a castle, a medieval street, past an attractive model of the city in the year 1650 at a stately mansion from the 18th century.

The Riverland Panorama shows the landscape of central Netherlands, seen through the eyes of painters. There is work by artists from the 17th century (eg Salomon van Ruysdael, Jan van Goyen), 19th century (eg John Henry Weissenbruch Paul Gabriel) and 21th century (eg William the Ouden, Frank Dekkers) to visit.
IJsselstein City Museum exhibitions feature local history and modern art.
The museum café is an opportunity for coffee / tea or soft drinks to eat. In this room is a small library for children and special workstations regarding the historical exhibition. In the museum shop postcards and books for sale. There is also a small supply replica glass and pottery and weaving arts.

IJsselstein Castle Tower

The tower is affiliated to the museum. The former castle is well-known due to "Fulco the minstrel", a famous story about a dramatic episode in the history of IJsselstein, a siege in 1297/98. The tower exhibits the siege and several other historical events in a way that invites especially children, to explore the place.

When the first castle at this was built isn't known. It was however built near the banks of the IJssel river and its history was always linked to that of the town of IJsselstein. In 1144 there is already a Lord of IJsselstein but no mention of the castle. The castle was first mentioned 1279. Between 1795 and 1798 the castle was used to house soldiers of the occupying French army. After that it stood empty for several years, was rented out once and sold twice. Finally, in 1888, the end came for IJsselstein Castle; it was completely torn down with exception of the remaining tower.

The IJsselstein castle stood for over 500 years, but today only the tower is visible. The town is home to the N.H. Nicolaas Church. Twenty minutes down the motorway is the popular suburb of IJsselstein complete with a car-free medieval city centre and castle (now a museum).
IJsselstein Castle Tower
The city owes its name to its location between the rivers Lek and Hollandse IJssel and the castle “castle by the IJssel riverside”. Around 1310 a statue of Mary was found in a field. A chapel was built in honour of “Our Lady of Eiteren” . IJsselstein became one of the few pilgrimages in the Netherlands. Besides the castle tower, remains of the original city walls and city gates are preserved. You can also visit the 14th century St. Nicholas Church, the 19th century St. Nicholas Basilica and the operating grain mill. In the summer season you can visit the castle tower, where a drama about life on the castle in mediaeval times is played every hour. Other recommendations: a visit to the city museum and a cruise through the moats.

Many other castles and country estates are open to the public. These include Groeneveld Castle in Baarn, Huis Doorn Castle, IJsselstein Castle Tower, Zeist Castle, Sypesteyn Castle Museum in Loosdrecht and Zuylen Castle in Oud-Zuilen.

Opening hours: daily, excluding monday and thuesday, from 13.00 till 17.00 h. Closed on public holidays.

How to get there:

The IJsselstein City Museum (Stadsmuseum IJsselstein) and Castle Tower is 10 kilometres southwest of Utrecht

Contact IJsselstein Museum
The IJsselstein City Museum (Stadsmuseum IJsselstein) and Castle Tower
Walkade 2-4
IJsselstein
Tel. 030 688 6800
Fax. 030 687 1255
Website: http://www.stadsmuseum.nl/

Related Links:
The history of IJsselstein Castle.
History Of IJsselstein



People who viewed 'The IJsselstein City Museum (Stadsmuseum IJsselstein) and Castle Tower' also found interest in following articles . . .

Castle or Museum Sypesteyn in Nieuw Loosdrecht

The valuable art collection which was collected by Esquire C.H.C.A. van Sypesteyn (1857 - 1937)

Radboud Castle (Kasteel Radboud) and Museum, Medemblik

Medemblik is the smallest but oldest of the West Frisian towns. Count Floris the Fifth granted

Who lived in the Castle of Muiden?

The answer to that is: fifty-five castle governors. But that is an oversimplification. True, from

Slot Zuylen Castle in Oud Zuilen

Slot Zuylen was built around 1520 on medieval remains. In 1752 the Slot was rebuilt into a stately

1370 - The first restoration of Castle of Muiden

The Bishop of Utrecht, Willem van Mechelen, took possession of the castle and it appears that the

Castle Groeneveld in Baarn

Temporary and permanent exhibits on forests, nature and landscapes are held in the castle, which

1280 - 1296, It all starts with Floris V - Castle of Muiden

In the footsteps of Count Floris V The history of Muiden castle begins with Floris V, Count of
| Home | Contact Us | Submit |