Mill “De jonge Dirk” (The young Dirk)

Mill “De jonge Dirk” (The young Dirk)

Mill “De jonge Dirk” (The young Dirk) is an, in 1959 rebuild, octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding. Originally this was a little mill; build in 1908 in Zaandam as spice-mill. In the current mill stele-Dutch paper can be made. The wingspread of this little mill is only 8 meters.

The mill is running normally on Sunday and Monday. On the other side is mill De Schoolmeester (The Schoolmaster). Besides " The Young Dirk " there is small mill De wipmolen (of waterwipmolen) De Zwaan (The Swan) in Westzaan. De Zwaan (The Swan) is a pasture mill in the Dutch village Westzaan. Mill De Zwaan (The Swan) had a turbulent history has been completely rebuilt after storm damage in 2004. De wipmolen (of waterwipmolen) or the wipmolen is almost always used as polder. Occasionally the wipmolen is used as windmill. The mill is now next to the mill Dirk De Jonge. The mill is equipped with a wooden impeller pump is arranged in operation and can be visited when visiting Dirk De Jonge and only accessible by boat.

“De jonge Dirk” (The young Dirk)
Eiland Westzijderveld Island Westzijderveld
1151 ZA 1151 ZA
Westzaan Westzaan
Tel: (0)756403808 (0) 756 403 808

Visiting hours and others details info about Mill Het Prinsenhof (The Prince's Court), in Westzaan, Zaanstad, Zaandam; Visit: Click here (Dutch Only)

People who viewed 'Mill “De jonge Dirk” (The young Dirk)' also found interest in following articles . . .

Mill Het Jonge Schaap (The Young Sheep)

The newest asset of the Society of Zaan Mills is the brand-new saw Mill Het Jonge Schaap (The Young

Mill Het Prinsenhof (The Prince's Court)

Het Prinsenhof (The Prince's Court) is fit up again in the seventies to hull barley. Het Prinsenhof

Mill De Huisman (The Homemaker)

Mill “De Huisman” is probably built in 1786 as sniff-mill. Later on “De Huisman” was more over fit

The mill “De Schoolmeester” (The School-teacher)

The mill “De Schoolmeester” (The School-teacher), in former times also nicknamed as “De Gauwdief” (

Pasture or Meadow Mill (De Hadel)

Pasture or Meadow Mill (De Hadel), situated at het Zeilmakerspad of the Zaanse Schans, is a North-

Mill “De Ooievaar” (The Stork)

Mill “De Ooievaar” (The Stork) is an, originally in or shortly before 1622 as oil-mill build,

The Mill De Zoeker (The Seeker)

The mill De Zoeker (The Seeker) is an octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is
| Home | Contact Us | Submit |