Zaan Area Wind Mills - The Zaanse Mills
Mills, The Zaan-area became world-famous because of them. Because over centuries wind-mills supplied the (clean) energy for one of the first real industrial areas of the world. With that they formed the foundation of the prosperity of this area. With the constantly advancing technology they stepped over to other power source and the mills disappeared more and more from the Zaanse landscape. Momentary there are only 13 left from the original 1000 and over and above this one of the most famous primeval-Zaanse mill-types: De bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) wood-saw-mill. Several enthusiastic Zaankanters (people who are originally frm the Zaan-area), foundation “Het jonge Schaap”, the association “De Zaansche Molen” and the municipality Zaanstad want to change this together: by the rebuild of the glorious sawing bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) “Het jonge Schaap” (The young Sheep). You too can make an important contribution to this mill-campaign. Visit: Het Jonge Schaap (Dutch only).
Here below you find a resume of the mills in the Zaan-area. Click on the link of the mill you want more information about.
Mill De Huisman (The Homemaker) is probably built in 1786 as snuff-mill. Later on “De Huisman” was more-over fit up for the manufacturing of mustard.
The Mill “De Gekroonde Poelenburg” (The Crowned Poelenburg) is a paltrok-mill (wood-saw-mill which can be turned to the wind on rollers over a brick-wall in one piece) build in 1869. It was located at “het Oostzijderveld” in Zaandam till 1963.
The Mill “de Kat” (The Cat) is an, originally in 1781 build, octagonal scaffolding-mill, since the partial rebuilding on the Zaanse Schans in 1960 fit up as paint-mill.
The mill “De Zoeker” (The Searcher) is an octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding as well, which is being propped up by several stamps according to Zaanse-style.
Mill “De Bonte Hen” (The many-coloured Hen) is the most northerly one of the row of mills of the Zaanse Schans. It is probably build in, or shortly after, 1693.
Pasture or Meadow Mill (De Hadel), situated at het Zeilmakerspad of the Zaanse Schans, is a North-Dutch meadow-mill, coming from Midwoud. In 1968 it came to the Zaanse Schans, where it is being used to rinse through the ditches.
Mill De Bleeke Dood (The pale death)is a, in 1655-1656 build, corn-mill. An octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding.
Mill “De Ooievaar” (The Stork) is an, originally in or shortly before 1622 as oil-mill build, octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding.
Mill De Koker (The Chute) was built in 1806 in Wormer and fit up as corn-mill.
Mill De Twiskemolen (Twiske-mill) in Landsmeer is an octagonal binnenkruier (windmill of which the inside works is movable), build around 1578.
Mill Het Prinsenhof (The Prince's Court) is fit up again in the seventies to hull barley.
Mill “De jonge Dirk” (The young Dirk) is an, in 1959 rebuild, octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding. Originally this was a little mill; build in 1908 in Zaandam as spice-mill.
The mill “De Schoolmeester” (The School-teacher), in former times also nicknamed as “De Gauwdief”, is dated from 1692. It is a hexagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding.
The mill “Het Pink” (The Yearling) was built in 1751, probably on an older foundation. It is an octagonal bovenkruier (windmill of which only the cap is movable) with scaffolding, with a wingspread of 23 meters!
Mill 'Roosmolen De Hercules' (Rose mill The Hercules) in Zaandijk is an unmanned steal pumping engine, which is also called the rose mill because of the shape of the wind wheel.
Het Jonge Schaap (The Young Sheep) sawmill in the Zaanstreek, 'Het Jonge Schaap', was dismantled in 1942 it was painstakingly measured. The measurements and drawings were archived making it possible to rebuilt it in the 21st century.
The Zaanse Mill-Association. In 1925 the association “De Zaansche Molen” was grounded. The first success was the restoration of oil-mill “De Zoeker”. Three years later the mill-museum was opened. The outstanding maintenance of the windmills in the Zaan is Largely due to the diligence of the Windmill Society, the Association Zaansche Mill. The Society of Zaan Mills was founded in 1925. Its first success was the restoration of oil mill De Zoeker. Three years later, the Mill Museum was opened.
The Zaanse Schans Information Desk
The Zaanse Schans Information Desk is situated in the reception area of the Zaans Museum and is open daily from 9 am to 5 pm. The Zaanse Schans is open daily throughout the year. There is no entrance fee, however some of the attractions charge an admission fee.
During the winter months some of the attractions are only opened in the weekends. For further information please contact the Zaanse Schans Information Desk or the opening hours on the website.
Windmill Society 'De Zaanse Molen'
The preservation and conservation of the remaining windmills in the Zaan region is unquestionably the success of the Zaansche Windmill Society founded in 1925 by French artist and teacher Mars. He understood that windmills having lost their economic importance would disappear from the area and an important element of Zaanse culture would be lost forever. The society's first objective was to Establish the Windmill Museum in 1928. The rebuilding sawmill The Young Sheep, opened in 2007, is the sixth functional windmill at the Zaanse Schans.
Windmill Society Association Zaansche Mill
Museumlaan 181.541 LP Koog aan de Zaan
P.O. Box 31.540 AA Koog aan de Zaan
Tel +31 (0) 75 6215148
Fax +31 (0) 75 6570308
The official site of the Zaanse Schans, where you can find even more information Among other things the opening hours of the premises at the Zaanse Schans.
The Zaanse Schans Information Desk
Schansend 7, 1509 AW Zaandam
Tel +31 (0)75 681 00 00
Fax +31 (0)75 617 69 80
People who viewed 'Zaan Area Wind Mills - The Zaanse Mills' also found interest in following articles . . .